Skip to main content

Promoting and Celebrating Who We Are

Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Awards

At the Statler College, we aim to enhance the quality of higher education and promote a fruitful and productive work environment for All. Each year the Office of the Dean will recognize one current staff member, one faculty member, one student, and one student organization who demonstrates exemplary leadership that manifests the ideals of diversity, equity and inclusion into practical action.

Open to all members of the Statler College community, recipients of this award demonstrate their commitment across a range of possibilities: student- or staff-centered inclusion initiatives; efforts to support recruitment and retention of diverse faculty, staff and/or students; multicultural programming or related initiatives; community outreach activities; inclusion of diverse authors into course curriculums; or teaching and/or research that expands and embraces our understanding of inclusiveness. The awardees represent openness in thinking and embrace us all independent of race, religion, culture, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, thought processes, etc., . Nominees must also embody the Mountaineer Values of service, curiosity, respect, accountability and appreciation.

"I am extremely proud of our faculty, staff and students for going above and beyond to help build a College community where everyone has the opportunity to reach their fullest potential,” Dean Pedro Mago said. “They are an example of what we can do, together, and as individuals, to create a more welcoming learning and living environment. This award establishes a standard for us all to live up to.”​

2023 Recipients

DEI award recipients are Brian Powell and Nada Mikky, Sara Demircan, Joud Sabag, Amina Alansary, Omar Ibraheem, Omar Sabbagh, Muhammed Muzaffar, Mohamed Albaghdadi, Yusuf Rana, and Tareq Alghafari from the Muslim Students Organization.

Statler College announces 2023 Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award recipients​

2022 Recipients

DEI Award Recipients (left to right): Kevin Orner, Michelle Moirai, Dianne Stewart, and Ashley McCullough

Statler College announces 2022 Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award recipients​

2021 Recipients

Four female DEI excellence award winners.

Statler College announces 2021 Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award recipients​

2020 recipients

Faculty, student and student organization DEI winners

Statler College announces 2020 Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award Recipients